Our Awesome God

ktkards20

This is my birthday week. I’ve always had a thing about my birthday, because I was born on my mom’s twentieth birthday, and when I was young no one ever remembered it was my birthday too. It was always her birthday. I was an afterthought if I was remembered at all. Mom received cards addressed to Edie and daughter or even Edie and Becky because they knew one of her kids was born on her birthday but they guessed wrong..

My mom had four children, and most of the time she couldn’t keep our names straight. I always told the joke that I was sixteen before I realized my name wasn’t “Butch, Becky, Sandra, ____ I mean Teresa!” It’s always thrilled me that God knows my name. He remembers my birthday. He says He knows the number of hairs on my head. Unfortunately, that number seems to diminish every day. But He still keeps track.

So what does that mean? That I’m special? Well, yes. I’m special to Him because I’m His child. But even though He has many, many children, He knows every detail about every one of their lives. He never gets them mixed up. That’s the God we serve. It says so much more about Who He is than it does about us. Far from being the Deist’s idea of an aloof and distant being, He’s an up close and personal God Who shows His love for us every day of our lives.

Have you ever watched a sunrise on the ocean? Watched lightning light up the sky from the safety of your front porch as a thunderstorm raged?  Or examined the petals of an exotic flower? These are just a few of the glorious gifts of Father gives us, not just on our birthday, but every day. His blessings surround us daily. It’s our job to recognize them as the manna for our soul they truly are. And be thankful for them.

We’ve been studying the Psalms this quarter in our Connect Group. The Psalmists loved to sing praises to their God. But they were only continuing a tradition that had been passed down through the generations. The songs of the Israelites permeate the Old Testament. Moses and Miriam celebrated in song as did Deborah and Barak. David hired musicians and danced before the Lord. That tradition of musical praise continues to this day. I love the old Gospel hymns. But I also love the contemporary choruses. The important thing isn’t the manner or expression, but the God they exalt. We serve a mighty and awesome God, and He is worthy of all our praise.

About TeresaGPollard

Born and raised in Richmond, VA, I am a Christian Mom, Grandma, Sunday School Teacher, and now Author. My goal is to reach people with the Truth of God's Word and help them to apply it to their real world situations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Our Awesome God

  1. Cathy and Doug Sides says:

    Hello Teresa,
    Happy birthday to you and You , Especially. I love celebrating birthdays and hope you enjoy yours all month. Yes, we do serve an awesome God who loves us individually. Thanks for your words to remind us.
    Hop you are having a blessed summer time. We are enjoying Denver with our daughter and son-in-law.
    Happy birthday,
    Cathy

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Cathy. It’s been busy so far. My daughter is trying to sell her house, and I’ve been trying to help her. Of course I’ve got CJ most days, and I’m also tutoring, writing, and generally up to something most of the time.

      Like

Leave a Reply

