Superpowers

KTKards3

You shall receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you. Acts 1:8a (NASB)

I met a lady this evening who reads even faster than I do, and I’m pretty fast. I can read a book a day, but she reads them in two hours. She has read over 400 books in the last year, and her goal is to read 500 this year. Her name is Carrie Schmidt, and she blogs her reviews at http://readingismysuperpower.org. She was the speaker at our ACFW North Georgia meeting tonight. To say I’m impressed by her reading skill is an understatement.

Our last year’s VBS theme at Hebron was Super Heroes. I had the Superman themed room. Of course Superman had all kinds of super powers—super strength, super speed, x-ray vision, etc.. So what is a superpower? Does anyone really have one? I’m not speaking in the comic book sense, although if you think about it, Batman didn’t really have any super powers either. He just took what he had (with a lot of wealth to enhance it) and did everything he could to make his world a better place. Maybe that’s what makes a superpower. It’s anything we can use in an extraordinary way to make the world better, or at least our part of it.

I was reminded of an example of this last week. A friend posted a picture of a pot holder, and asked me if I remembered making them. I sure did. Our little missions group had made bunches of them and the kids sold them to their friends and family to give an offering to our mission effort. One particular child had gone far above and beyond what had been asked. (If I remember correctly, she had made and sold over $100 in pot holders.) God used something as simple as making a pot holder to show her she had an extraordinary passion for missions. She still does. She has become an amazing young woman who is so active in the Lord’s service. I couldn’t be prouder of her.

Among my writer friends, many have what I consider superpowers. Some are simply prolific. They may not write quite as fast as Carrie can read, but still with an amazing output in sheer quantity. Others write more slowly, but can turn a phrase with such beauty and intensity that I can read it over and over to savor it like a gourmet meal. They make me laugh, cry, hope, or despair. More importantly, they point people to Jesus. As Christian writers, that’s always the goal, whether we do it overtly (I’ll admit, I’m pretty blatant, but then I set some of my books in a church, so what else could you expect from them?) or subtly and necessitating reading between the lines. Both ways will reach some, but not all. That’s okay.

Whether through writing, teaching, working in a nursery, or simply like one man I knew who was faithful to get up early every Sunday and open the doors, turn on the lights and heat or AC, we can be a part of transforming the lives of those around us.  I once knew a preacher at the local Rescue Mission who before he met Jesus had been a falling-down drunk just like many of the men he now ministered to. That’s the power of salvation. Bringing folks to Jesus–to me, this is the greatest power we can have. How do we do it?—aah, that’s where the superpower question comes in. What’s your superpower?

God bless you.

 

About TeresaGPollard

Born and raised in Richmond, VA, I am a Christian Mom, Grandma, Sunday School Teacher, and now Author. My goal is to reach people with the Truth of God's Word and help them to apply it to their real world situations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

