Time

phone3415 064a

For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven. Ecclesiastes 3:1 (KJV)

     Can you believe spring is almost here? Does it seem like Christmas was two months ago to you?  Maybe it’s just me but January and February have flown by so much faster than they ever seemed to when I was younger. A week goes by, and I think, there’s no way that happened a week ago. And yet, at the same time, there are some days I wonder if this day will ever end, simply because I’m tired or my back hurts, or whatever. I don’t know if this elastic view of time has anything to do with my forgetfulness lately, or it’s the inevitable progression of time on my body and my mind. I’m getting old, and there doesn’t seem to be much of anything I can do about it. My dad used to say he didn’t have Alzheimer’s; he had “half-heimers” because he only forgot things about half the time. I’m getting to feel the same way.

We’ve been studying Revelation in our Sunday afternoon Bible study recently, and Sunday, we were talking about God’s view of time. Some of our people take the literal view that creation was six thousand years ago, and took place in six 24 hour days. Others believe the “day” mentioned is a representation of a period of time, and the earth could be millions of years old, but most of these do believe that since the creation of man and the entrance of sin into the world, there have only been about six thousand years.  The Bible does say that to Him a thousand years is like a day, (Psalm 90:4) so my answer to that question is that I don’t know for sure. But I do know that if my God wants to create it in six 24 hour days, He’s perfectly capable of doing so. Even many scientists now agree that the order of creation given in Genesis is correct although they wouldn’t call it creation. They think it evolved over time. If my memory is any example, things don’t evolve. They devolve. But I’m getting off the subject. See, that’s what comes with age. We lose focus.

So, back to the point; is God’s view of time elastic? I think so. But I don’t think it’s in the same way mine is. He doesn’t forget anything except forgiven sins, (and aren’t we glad he puts those as far away from Him as the east is from the west.) No, His elastic view is to accomplish His purposes. From Creation to His Return to set up His Kingdom and judge sin once and for all, He has one goal—the salvation of as many as will choose Him. Wow! Don’t you wish we could be that focused? From His point of view, He sees every detail. He allows some things, and sends angels to prevent others. He gifts those who would perform His mighty works, and He sets stumbling blocks and crossroads before those who have yet to choose Him.

And yet, even with His single-mindedness, He never forgets His children. His promise is that “all things work together for the good of those who love Him and are called according to his purposes.” (Romans 8:28) By that, He means all things; not just good thing, and not even just bad things. He takes it all and stirs it up like minestrone to make us into the men and women of God that He can use to bring more people into the kingdom.

My friend Rachel Nyambi wrote a beautiful poem recently about a river with two banks. No matter where the river flows, those banks stay together just like God sticks right with us no matter where the river of our life takes us. He’s only a prayer away. That’s one thing I never want to forget.

 

About TeresaGPollard

Born and raised in Richmond, VA, I am a Christian Mom, Grandma, Sunday School Teacher, and now Author. My goal is to reach people with the Truth of God's Word and help them to apply it to their real world situations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

