Words

KTKards11

Let the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be acceptable in Your sight, O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer. Psalm 19:14 (NASB)

     There’s a time and a place for everything, or so my mama said. Fortunately for me, this is the place for me to speak my mind. But I never wanted it to be a place to just go on a rant and leave it at that. That’s why I added the subtitle to the blog , Applying God’s Word in an Ungodly World. It’s really not important what I have to say on any given subject. It’s important what God has to say.

     Words are powerful weapons. They’re nuclear. The old adage about them not breaking bones is baloney. They do far worse. They break the soul. That’s why people seem to now recognize bullying as the true crime it is. It’s nothing new. It’s been going on for centuries, but now at least, people are starting to recognize its danger.

The books of Psalms and Proverbs are full of wisdom about using our words wisely. Proverbs 15:1 says, “a gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger.” We live in an amazing, but crazy, world where anyone can openly criticize the president, and yes, he can then tweet about them to the world. I know I’ve been guilty of this myself (more about Mr. Obama than Mr. Trump, not that anyone really cared what I had to say). The point is why? Why are people so set on stirring up anger when they haven’t even given the man a chance?

At the same time, those of us who are conservative need to realize that our words need to be gentle answers, not gloating. Love is patient. Love is kind… Love covers a multitude of sins. Words of love could soothe a lot of ruffled feathers. We must speak words of love.

Our Executive Pastor, (I think that’s his title), Derek Spain preached a beautiful sermon Sunday night called From Woe to Glory on Psalm 5. It was about directing our words of woe to God instead of vilifying others. That allows God to redirect our thinking and give us victory over any real or supposed enemies. Derek suggested praying this psalm back to God using our own prayer concerns just as David used his.  Our Connect Group lesson Sunday morning was on the Witness altar. In that case, the rest of the Israelites thought the Reubenites, Gadites, and half tribe of Manasseh were their enemies. They were mistaken. It was all a misunderstanding. How often are our divisions simply misunderstandings that if we could sit down and discuss things reasonably, we could easily solve?    Psalm 5:11 says, “But let all who take refuge in You be glad. Let them ever sing for joy; and may You shelter them, that those who love Your name may exult in You.” He is our shield and protector, and we can be glad. He is good.

Lord, let the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be acceptable in Your sight, O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.  Amen.

About TeresaGPollard

Born and raised in Richmond, VA, I am a Christian Mom, Grandma, Sunday School Teacher, and now Author. My goal is to reach people with the Truth of God's Word and help them to apply it to their real world situations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

