Trash

chip 2 pictures 167

But wishing to justify himself, he said to Jesus, “and who is my neighbor?”

Took down my Christmas tree on New Year’s Day. That’s one tradition I don’t enjoy nearly as much as putting it up. Somehow it’s much sadder, as if I’m packing away all the hope and joy that go along with Christmas with the decorations. But I shouldn’t. Christmas is a spirit that should remain with us all year. But does it?

I also took out two bags of trash. When the kids were little, I’d save all the tubes from the wrapping paper, and one of the best parts of the day was that we’d all have a huge sword fight with them until there was nothing left of them. Fortunately, we bought cheap wrapping paper, so they tended to disintegrate rather easily and no one could get hurt in the process. These days I mostly use reusable bags, so there isn’t much litter from Christmas. My two bags were the normal weekly output.

Even that’s too much though. If I’m a “Democrat” in anything, it’s that I agree we need to take care of our planet. I do recycle. But not nearly enough. And the plastic trash bags and grocery bags I bring home! They stopped making plastic diapers because they said they’d last a hundred years in a landfill. Won’t the trash and grocery bags do the same thing? I have cloth grocery bags. The problem is I tend to forget and leave them in my car. Then I shop with Kristina–in her car. A lot of good the cloth bags do me sitting back in my car at her house. I finally gave up and started using the store’s bags.  But a new year means a new effort. I need to start trying again.

So what does any of this have to do with having a Christmas spirit throughout the year? I guess it’s the idea that we are our brother’s keeper. We should care about our neighbor. We should care about our neighbor’s children and grandchildren. We have a responsibility to always do everything we can to make this world the best place we can for all who live in it. That shouldn’t be a Democratic or Republican thing. It should be a humanity thing. Loving our neighbor means caring. Even about trash.

About TeresaGPollard

Born and raised in Richmond, VA, I am a Christian Mom, Grandma, Sunday School Teacher, and now Author. My goal is to reach people with the Truth of God's Word and help them to apply it to their real world situations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

