The Day After Christmas

   chip4pictures 113 …And His name will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Eternal Father, Prince of Peace

Today (Monday) was the day after Christmas. In ESL last week, we did a Christmas crossword puzzle, and the clue was the day after Christmas. To be honest, I had no idea what the answer was. I told them in England, I thought it was called Boxing Day, but as far as I knew, it didn’t have a name here. I know in retail, they used to say it was the biggest shopping day of the year, even outstripping Black Friday.  I know when I worked retail, I hated it. People seemed to immediately lose whatever Christmas spirit they had. Most of what we did involved returns, and many would try to get back more than had been paid for the items. I remember one lady who tried to get back full retail on an item she’d gotten free.

Fortunately, I don’t have to deal with that anymore. Still, it was a rather wet and miserable day today; mist and fog making the semi-warm temperature less than appealing. It kind of reminded me of when Jesus said He would rather we be cold or hot, that being tepid made Him want to spew us out of His mouth.  I would have loved either some snow or some sunshine. Today was just blah. It would have been a good day to simply curl up under the snuggly new comforter I got for Christmas (Thanks, Tammy), and read a good book on my new iphone (Thanks, Kristina). But I didn’t. I braved the weather (Remember, I live in Georgia, not North Dakota.), trudged out, and worked at cleaning Kristina’s office for all of about five hours, before coming back to my warm and cozy home. Poor little me.  Yeah, right. I know I’m blessed. I have a home to come back to, friends and family who care, good food to eat, and a Diet Coke whenever I want one. (I used to drink Diet Pepsi all the time, but when in Georgia…)

My roommate returned home tonight too after spending Christmas with her two daughters and the four-year-old grandson she met for the first time at Thanksgiving.  She said this was the best Christmas she’d had in her entire life. I was so thrilled for her. Christmas is not about things. It’s about sharing time with your family and friends.  But most of all, it’s about Jesus—and not just on Christmas Day. It’s not just about a babe in a manger. It’s about a Man on a cross. And it’s not just about a Man on a cross either. It’s that the grave could not contain Him. It’s that the tomb is empty. He is alive. That’s what makes Christianity different from every other religion in the world. No matter how miserable the weather gets this winter, no matter who the president is and whether or not we’re happy about it, no matter how good or bad the economy gets, no matter whether our family is near or far away. God is still with us. Jesus—He’s Immanuel, our Savior, our Lord, our Comforter, our Healer, our Friend. He’s all we need. Even on a wet, rainy, miserable day after Christmas. Anybody know what it’s called?

About TeresaGPollard

Born and raised in Richmond, VA, I am a Christian Mom, Grandma, Sunday School Teacher, and now Author. My goal is to reach people with the Truth of God's Word and help them to apply it to their real world situations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

