Hope

  butterfly-1228639_1920 ‘For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope. Jeremiah 29:11 (NASB)

 Well, I’m back. I guess I just can’t keep my mouth shut about things that are important to me. Whether anyone reads it or not isn’t the issue. Speaking God’s Truth into touchy subjects seems to be what I’m called to do, and I must be obedient. So here goes.

It’s official. Whether you like it or not, the electoral college has spoken. We have a new president. For some of us, that means a new hope that things will get back to at least a semblance of reality. For others, at least according to Michelle Obama, they have no hope.

But no matter what party we belong to, we can NEVER put all our hope in a person. If we do, they are sure to fail us. Idols have to fall. Whether the idol is Trump, Obama, or Clinton, or anyone or anything else we can put our trust in beside Jesus, God will never allow them to stand.  I learned this lesson the hard way. I was married for forty years to someone I gave my whole heart to. Like I said, idols have to fall. People are flawed. They can never live up to the ideal. Only Jesus can do that.

At Christmas, we celebrate the reason He can–because He is God Incarnate–God with us–Immanuel. People nowadays tend to dismiss the virgin birth as a fairy tale. IT’S NOT! It’s the Truth, the whole Truth, and Nothing but the Truth! The King of Heaven stepped out of Glory to be born in a manger, live the one and only perfect life capable of making atonement for sin, and then died to make that payment. The resurrection is our proof that HE WAS WHO HE SAID HE WAS, AND HE DID WHAT HE SAID HE DID! Praise God for His salvation plan. Because of it, we CAN have real hope. Our God is not dead. He’s alive, and He’s coming again just as He said He would.

When He walked the earth, Jesus told everyone He must be about His Father’s business. What was that business? Well, if we look at His life, it’s easy to see. Yes, He did many miracles and healed people, and we may not be able to do those things, but the main thing He did was to give them a Hope. He is the Hope, and all who know Him can give that Hope to others simply by opening their mouth and sharing the Good News. We don’t have to do it alone. He gave us His Word to help us show them the way to Him. The plan is simple. I teach it to children. A-Admit to God you’re a sinner.(Romans 3:23, 6:23), B-Believe that Jesus is God’s Son, and that He came to earth to live a perfect life, die to pay the penalty for your sin, was resurrected on the third day, and now sits at the right hand of the Father interceding on your behalf. (John 3:16), C-Confess your sins and commit your life to His care. (1 John 1:9, Romans 10:10).

Because I have that precious Hope, I must be about my Father’s business. People need Hope.

 

 

 

About TeresaGPollard

Born and raised in Richmond, VA, I am a Christian Mom, Grandma, Sunday School Teacher, and now Author. My goal is to reach people with the Truth of God's Word and help them to apply it to their real world situations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hope

  1. Cathy and Doug Sides says:

    Merry Christmas Teresa,
    Thanks for your writing. May you have a wonderful and blessed time with your family this Christmas season. Feel free to visit with us if you make it to Greensboro to see our dear friend Krystal. Safe travels if you are venturing to Va.
    Friends in Christ,
    Cathy and Doug Sides

    Like

    • Sorry I was so late seeing this, Cathy. I didn’t go to Virginia or North Carolina this year. I’m still hoping Krystal can come down to see me soon. I had a very nice and quiet Christmas. Hope yours was wonderful and blessed too. If you’re ever traveling this way, please come to see me. God bless you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

