TABOO TUESDAY TOPIC: Luck

chip 2 pictures 018a

“…For I will turn their mourning into joy and will comfort them and give them joy for their sorrow.” Jeremiah 31:13 (NASB)

     Remember the old Hee Haw song, “Gloom, despair, and agony on me, deep dark depression, excessive misery. If it weren’t for bad luck, I’d have no luck at all. Gloom, despair, and agony on me.” Sometimes I think that’s the story of my life. I must walk around with a little black cloud hanging over my head like the old cartoon character.

I got word from my publisher this week that HopeSprings Books is shutting down and my books will no longer be available on Amazon (or anywhere else for that matter). All rights revert back to me, but if I want to republish them, I have to get new ISBNs, make new covers, and figure out how to self-publish. I’ve told many times of the miraculous way God connected me to HopeSprings. Does this negate the miracle? I don’t think so. Nothing negates the work of God. But God’s economy is far different from ours. He doesn’t see things as we do. Even one person’s salvation or repentance from sin is more than enough for Him to start a whole company and publish a myriad of books.

I’ve had an awful lot of bad things happen in my life: a divorce after forty years of marriage, my youngest daughter’s death, a horseback riding accident as a child which caused an enlarged parathyroid needing surgery at fifty year old, to name just a few. Now this. So, do I really believe in luck? No. Not really. But I do believe Satan strolls about like a roaring lion seeking victims to devour. And I believe the more we try to serve God, the more relentless he is in his quest. But I refuse to be his victim. You see, I’m only his victim if I allow myself to be. He has no real power over my life unless I give it to him. I’ve never been a Miss Perky, and I know I’m particularly vulnerable to depression. But I also have a stubborn streak that gives me the determination that allows me to say, “Get away from me, Satan. I belong to Jesus.”

God tells me in Romans 8:28 He “works all things together for good to those who love [Him] and are called according to His purpose.” That means all things. Not just the good ones. He has a plan. It may not make much sense to me. That doesn’t matter. What matters is my obedience. And my attitude. So when that gloom and despair threatens to overcome me, I just need to remember how I used to laugh when Grandpa Jones and the Hee Haw gang sang it. I still may not be able to laugh at the moment, but I know my God is faithful, and joy does come in the morning.

Question of the Day: What do you do when you feel like you have nothing but bad luck?

About TeresaGPollard

Born and raised in Richmond, VA, I am a Christian Mom, Grandma, Sunday School Teacher, and now Author. My goal is to reach people with the Truth of God's Word and help them to apply it to their real world situations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

