TABOO TUESDAY TOPIC: Death

chip4pictures 005

…For in the day that you eat from it [the fruit of the tree of knowledge of good and evil], you shall surely die.  Genesis 2:17b (NASB)

     A child’s first contact with death is often the death of a beloved pet.  My grandson, CJ, lost his dog, Raven, this week.  Raven was a bit of a rascal.  Her favorite place to potty was under my daughter’s dining room table.  Efforts to train her were futile.  But that may have been more of a children training problem than a Raven training one, because my daughter swears when they took the dog with them on vacation and she was there to walk her, there was no problem.  Regardless, my grandson is devastated by her loss.  She has been his companion since the day he was born.

My Roanoke friends also mourn this week.  Frank Pivodal, a dear saint, went to be with the Lord.  Frank had suffered from ALS for as long as I had known him.  Yet he suffered with such courage and grace, he was constantly an inspiration to all who knew him.  Quite a few friends took an ice bucket shower on his behalf.  I never did that because by that time I had learned that ALS research used stem cells from aborted babies, but before I moved to Dacula, I had walked twice with Frank’s Tanks to raise money for his cause.  Frank will be sorely missed.  Please pray for his family and friends.

Of course every death I experience reminds me of those dearest to me who have gone on before.  There is an old saying; nothing is sure in life but death and taxes.  I’m still hoping for the Rapture before it comes to me, but I suppose most Christians have hoped that since the Resurrection.  If we read the Bible, it certainly seems that the apostles were expecting it in their lifetime.  But, as Christians, we need have no fear, either way.  Death is but a shadow for us.  Like a butterfly, it’s merely a shedding of this mortal body and putting on of eternity.  Death came to all creation because of the fall, (not just to people, but to everything) but Christ defeated it at the cross.  When He said, “It is finished,” He meant it!  Death, where is now thy sting?  We too can sing that, and mean it!

I don’t know if there’s a doggie heaven, and if there is, I’m not at all certain Raven will be there, but I do know where Frank and Kara are—safe in the arms of Jesus.  What a comfort it is to know Jesus made a Way.  Death is not the end; it’s only the beginning of something so wonderful it’s beyond our comprehension!  God bless.

 

About TeresaGPollard

Born and raised in Richmond, VA, I am a Christian Mom, Grandma, Sunday School Teacher, and now Author. My goal is to reach people with the Truth of God's Word and help them to apply it to their real world situations.
This entry was posted in Death, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

