TABOO TUESDAY TOPIC:The Value of One

KTKards12

I tell you that in the same way, there will be more joy in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine righteous persons who need no repentance. Luke 15:7 (NASB)

     Have you ever thought, “What can I do?  I’m just one person.”  What we don’t realize is that in God’s economy, one person plus God can make all the difference in the world.  And one is worth all our efforts.

The subject of divine appointments has come up several times this week.  Our Connect Group lesson was on Philip and the Ethiopian Eunuch.  God sent Philip all the way to Gaza from Samaria where he was having an extremely fruitful ministry to meet just one man.  We don’t  know what kind of influence that man had.  He may have won hundreds or thousands in Ethiopia who in turn won thousands or millions.  Or he may have died on the way home and never won another soul.  Either way, God considered him worth angelic intervention on his behalf.

Pastor Kevin finished up a series about Samson, who succumbed to temptation oven and over during his life, but was finally used by God to destroy the Philistines when he cried out to God in his last moments to strengthen him once more.  The Bible says in his death, he killed more than he had total in his lifetime.  Even if we’ve failed in the past, it doesn’t mean Christ can’t use us if we turn to Him for direction and follow it.

Kitty, one of the ladies in my group, shared that a woman who had gone through similar circumstances as hers when she was going through a difficult time in her marriage, shared a gospel tract with her on a park bench.  Kitty took the tract home with her, read it, and gave her life to Christ.  That was a divine appointment.  God had sent the one person who could best reach her.

When I was in Honduras years ago, I met a little girl named Juana with whom I shared the gospel.  She accepted Christ.  I was dressed as a clown at the time.  I’m sure, when she shares her testimony, she’ll tell about the clown who shared Jesus with her.  We had a divine appointment.  We ministered to over three hundred children on that mission trip, but I’ll always remember Juana.

Another divine appointment I had was with Lynellen Perry.  It was amazing how God set that one up.  I’d only been at Hebron a couple of months, and in the Hebron writers group a few weeks.  I was sitting in church when Betty Lumpkin walked up and told me about the Blue Ridge Mountain Christian Writers Conference at Ridgecrest.  I was sitting there with a copy of my novel Not Guilty on my lap.  Still, I told her I couldn’t possibly afford to go to the conference.  At that moment, Melissa, a Liberty University student, came on stage and sang a contemporary song titled Not Guilty. I went to the conference.  I knew right then God had arranged a divine appointment.  If any one of those three elements had been missing, I’m not sure I would have gotten the message, but God made it so clear.  The first person I met and exchanged business cards with at Ridgecrest was Lynellen.  Four years later, she is about to publish my fifth book, and I just returned from the conference where I received a Selah award finalist certificate.  But it’s at least one of the people who’ve read my books for whom I believe God arranged that meeting.  Someone on Facebook asked, “If you knew no one would ever read your books, would you still have written them?”  I can’t answer that, but I do know that if just one person did, the answer would be “yes, definitely.”  If one person would be worth Jesus dying on a cross, how could they not be worth any effort we could make?  We can’t know all the results of our work this side of heaven.  I do know from a few, because they told me, it helped heal them.  When God gives us a divine appointment, all we can do is, like Philip, be faithful to obey, and leave the results up to God.  One can make a difference.

Question of the Day: Have you ever had a divine appointment?  What happened?

 

About TeresaGPollard

Born and raised in Richmond, VA, I am a Christian Mom, Grandma, Sunday School Teacher, and now Author. My goal is to reach people with the Truth of God's Word and help them to apply it to their real world situations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Value of One. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

