TABOO TUESDAY TOPIC: Birth Control

phone3415 049

For which one of you, when he wants to build a tower, does not first sit down and calculate the cost to see if he has enough to complete it? Luke 15:28 (NASB)

     In a couple of weeks, millions of pro-lifers will storm the DC area as well as their state capitols with banners and signs demanding this country reinstate the right-to-life of those pre-born babies destroyed by the evil of abortion.  I will be among the marchers at the Georgia capitol.  Abortion is not birth control.  It is the premeditated murder of innocent children!  Life does begin at conception.

Many may think it hypocritical of me, but I do also believe in responsible birth control.  What is responsible birth control?  It’s a married couple’s right to decide when and how many children to have.  That right ends the moment a child is conceived.  This country was founded on the principle that one person’s rights end where another person’s begin.  I don’t have the right to steal your car, your wallet, or most importantly, take your life! A baby is a person whether it’s born yet or not.

Luke tells us we have to count the cost before we build a house.  How much more should that be true when building a family?     After my son Kevin was born, my husband wanted me to have a tubal ligation.  But God clearly told me He wasn’t finished with me yet, so I didn’t.  But when Kara was born, my doctor told me I’d never live through another pregnancy, so I took that as permission to have the procedure done.  Children are a gift from God, but they are also a huge responsibility as well as a financial strain.

What is NOT responsible birth control is handing young teenagers (or anyone else) a handful of birth control pills or condoms and letting them believe premarital or extramarital sex is perfectly permissible as long as they don’t commit the “sin” of getting pregnant!  Such a lie is not only irresponsible parenting or “educating”, it is ludicrous!  In the first place, there’s no such thing as “foolproof” birth control, and even if there were, no birth control can prevent sexually transmitted diseases entirely.  But more importantly, it isn’t the baby that’s the sin (like I said, babies are gifts from God), the sin is the illicit sexual activity that caused the baby in the first place.  Sex is another gift from God reserved exclusively for the marriage covenant.  Whether or not a baby results doesn’t make sin any less sinful!  It only makes it obvious to the rest of the world.  Which is more important: what God says, or what the world thinks?  I want to choose God every time.

When my youngest came home and told me she was pregnant, she thought I was going to be angry with her.  She’d already decided to keep her baby.  I embraced her, and told her I loved her and was proud of her decision to keep her baby; and that what would have made me furious was finding out she’d had an abortion. Praise God, she didn’t.  I now have a wonderful grandson to remember her by.

Taboo Tuesday Question of the Day: Where will you be January 22?

About TeresaGPollard

Born and raised in Richmond, VA, I am a Christian Mom, Grandma, Sunday School Teacher, and now Author. My goal is to reach people with the Truth of God's Word and help them to apply it to their real world situations.
This entry was posted in Birth Control, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

