TABOO TUESDAY TOPIC: Abortion

phone3415 243

Thus says the Lord who made you and formed you from the womb…Isaiah 44:2 (NASB)

     Sunday was Sanctity of Human Life Day.  This Friday is the March for Life.  I’ve never had an abortion.  As far as I know, no one in my family has either (although I suspect maybe my mother did), but God has given me a great passion about this topic.  Maybe it’s because I spent more than forty years teaching young children in Sunday School (before they changed the terminology to connect groups). I love children.  I love the honesty and pure joy they exude.

I had such a fierce love for my own children from the moment I found out about them, it’s hard for me to conceive of any mother not wanting her children.  The circumstances weren’t great when any of my children were born.  Wade spent five months in the hospital while I was pregnant with Kristina.  For a time I wasn’t even sure whether he would live or die.  But the thought never occurred to me to abort my baby because of it.  When Kevin was born, Wade was just getting settled in a new job.  We didn’t have much money to speak of, and by the time Kara came along, we were living up on the mountain in near poverty because he’d quit his job and gone to work for himself, where he seemed to have plenty of work to do, but couldn’t get most of his clients to actually pay him for the work he had done.

I do understand one difference; that I was married and had someone to share the burdens of parenthood with me.  That’s why God designed families to be that way.  The problem today is many people desire the benefits of marriage without any of the responsibilities. God never intended any woman to bear the responsibility of a child alone.  Children need fathers as well as mothers.  But any child, once conceived, deserves a chance at life, regardless of the circumstances of their conception.  We cannot play God.  Isaiah tells us, He alone gives life, and He alone has the right to take it away. Jeremiah adds that He knows the plans He has for us; plans to give us a hope and a future.

Abortion kills a child, not a clump of tissue.  We must join together to rise up against this evil!  We must shut down Planned Parenthood!   (That’s such a deceitful name for a baby slaughterhouse!)  And we must not allow any other abortion mills that would rise up to take its place!

The baby isn’t the only life destroyed by this evil.  Not to mention that many women are killed or rendered infertile by the procedure, a vast majority of the mothers later deeply regret this horrific decision.  Often, fathers have no say whatsoever in the destruction of their own children.  How does it affect them?   I’m not a man, but I would think it would make them feel helpless and weak.  Grandparents are denied one of the greatest joys this life offers.

Why?  99% of the time, it’s because it’s not “convenient” at the time.  “Convenient???”  Since when is life supposed to be convenient?  Nothing worthwhile in life (at least the one I’ve had) is convenient. Taking years to go to college isn’t convenient.  Working hard at a job isn’t convenient.  Paying a mortgage for thirty years isn’t convenient.  Why should parenthood be any different?   Children are a gift from the Lord.  Psalm 127 says “the fruit of the womb is a reward.”  We must stop carelessly tossing aside God’s precious gifts!   Join us at your state’s March for Life!

Taboo Tuesday Question of the Day:  Where will you be January 22?

About TeresaGPollard

Born and raised in Richmond, VA, I am a Christian Mom, Grandma, Sunday School Teacher, and now Author. My goal is to reach people with the Truth of God's Word and help them to apply it to their real world situations.
This entry was posted in Abortion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

