TABOO TUESDAY TOPIC: Renewal

KTKards5

Therefore we do not lose heart, but though our outer man is decaying, yet our inner man is being renewed day by day. 2 Corinthians 4:16 (NASB)

A new year is already four days old.  My best friend and my step-mother both celebrate birthdays this month.  (Happy birthday, Krystal and Sandy!  Love you both!)  Both of them look much younger than their age would indicate.  They look fantastic!  I’m not so lucky.  I could probably use some of that crepe erase they advertise of the TV.  But to be honest, I figure why bother.  My age is what it is.  I earned every one of these wrinkles and gray hairs.

On the other hand, when I look in the mirror, I sometimes wonder who that old woman is.  It couldn’t possibly be me!  In my mind, I can’t be more than thirty!  A nurse came to visit me this week to give me a Medicare check-up, and I told her I was probably in nearly the best health of my life.  It’s true.  When I was younger, I suffered from the effects of extreme high blood pressure, gall bladder and hernia issues, and other ailments.  Now, with the gall bladder removed, and the blood pressure under control, I was able to hike 50k in one week back in the fall, and my son-in-law can testify that I’m strong enough to lift small trees and boulders.

I have a lot to be grateful for in this new year.  In this past year, God has blessed me with good health, provided for my physical needs, and given me new friends as well as old ones to share my life with.

I don’t feel old.  I feel renewed.  Maybe that’s the way it’s supposed to be.  Proverbs 23:7 tells us,  “as we think within ourselves, so are we. (paraphrased)”  We may age on the outside, but inside we are to become more and more childlike.  As we read His word and trust Him more, the Holy Spirit renews us from the inside out.  Matthew 18:3 tells us, “,,,unless you are converted and become like children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.”  Think about it.  Small children trust their parents completely.  They don’t worry about anything because they expect their parents to provide.  Pleasing that parent is their primary motivation   It’s only as they get older that they learn hateful and selfish behaviors.  (Yes, I do believe that we’re born with that sinful nature, but I also believe that environmental issues can determine just how much or how little it is expressed.)  Love comes so naturally to children until their love and trust is betrayed .

Of course, there is a huge difference between childlike and childish.  1 Corinthians 13:11 says, “When I was a child, I used to speak like a child, think like a child, reason like a child; when I became a man, I did away with childish things.”  Have you ever had a temper tantrum with God.  Unfortunately, I have.  Only a couple of times, but enough to know it’s about the stupidest thing you can do in this life.  God is good, but sometimes He disciplines us by giving us what we ask for!

Taboo Tuesday Question of the Day:    Do you feel renewed today or are you feeling old and tired and weary?  It doesn’t have to be that way.  The new year is a good time to begin your renewal, and Psalm 51 is a good place to start.  “Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me.”  He wants us to have joy and abundance, not pain and despair!  Just ask!  God bless

About TeresaGPollard

Born and raised in Richmond, VA, I am a Christian Mom, Grandma, Sunday School Teacher, and now Author. My goal is to reach people with the Truth of God's Word and help them to apply it to their real world situations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to TABOO TUESDAY TOPIC: Renewal

  1. Krystal Weeks says:

    Thanks for the birthday wish. I’m so happy for you about your book. I have mixed emotions about getting older. I know each year I’m closer to heaven. I know the Lord has renewed my strength during trials in my life.. I’m learning to be still and know that He is God. I think God for all my blessings and for the hard times He has brought me through. It doesn’t really seem like I should be turning 64 but all the events in my life do add up to make the years.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

