TABOO TUESDAY TOPIC: Light

IMG_1103

The people who walk in darkness will see a great light; Those who live in a dark land, the light will shine on them. Isaiah 9:2 (NASB)

     Were you afraid of the dark as a child?  I was.  I was a sleepwalker, and I would sometime wake up in the darkness not knowing where I was.  Once I woke up in my parents’ bedroom and my mom had a gun pointed at my face before she realized it was me and her scream woke me up.

I’m not afraid of the dark anymore, but I think my roommate still is.  Once in a while I wake up in the middle of the night still, and my house is lit up like a Christmas tree, and she’s in her bed dead to the world with all her lights on and her TV blaring.

Dante said the innermost circle of hell was pure darkness.  That part I agree with.  In Genesis 1, light was the first thing God created, and He said it was good.  I don’t think there’ll be anything good in hell.   Of course, Dante also described hell as being made of pure ice.  That one I’m not so sure of.  The Bible describes it as a lake of eternal fire and torment.  But maybe a fire without any warmth or light, but with all its pain and suffering, would be even more tormenting.

Isaiah and Luke both tell us t hose who claim to know Jesus have “seen a great light.”  1 John 1:5-6 also tells us that “God is Light, and in Him there is no darkness at all.  If we say that we have fellowship with Him and yet walk in the darkness, we lie and do not practice the truth…”  We’ve seen the Light.  But the question is, do we walk in it?  That takes work.  No, we cannot work our way to salvation, but we are supposed to “work out our salvation with fear and trembling.” (Philippians 2:12)   I wonder how many of us are actually working at it, or are we just sleepwalking through our lives and will suddenly wake up to find ourselves surrounded by darkness?  It’s so easy to drift away from the Light if we don’t cling to Him.

Our world is being swallowed up in darkness.  Day by day, evil takes a stronger hold, it seems.  Now, more than ever, we need to walk in the Light.  Even more than that, we need to be the light for others as we let His Light shine through us to bring light to our dark world.  As we begin this Christmas season, let us pledge ourselves anew to walk in the Light, to share the Light with all we come in contact with, and to give glory to the One who is the True Light.  God bless you all.  Teresa

About TeresaGPollard

Born and raised in Richmond, VA, I am a Christian Mom, Grandma, Sunday School Teacher, and now Author. My goal is to reach people with the Truth of God's Word and help them to apply it to their real world situations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

