TABOO TUESDAY TOPIC: Divisions

Boston trip 032

These all with one mind were continually devoting themselves to prayer, along with the women, and Mary the mother of Jesus, and with His brothers. Acts 1:14 (NASB)

Let me begin by saying I’ve never bought a cup of Starbucks coffee in my life, so I don’t really give a flying fig what their coffee cups look like, and even if I did, my opinion wouldn’t matter to their business in the least either.  I’m just using this as an example of how Satan is so amazingly good at dividing Christians.  Instead of correctly identifying the enemy, we find it so much easier to snipe at each other, to tear each other down, instead of building each other up..

In this case, one man sees Starbucks as the politically correct machine who in its own fashion decides to take Christ out of Christmas. To strike back, he starts a movement that when they ask his name, he’ll just tell them  “Merry Christmas.” They’ll then write it on the cup. He urges others to do the same.  Instead of thinking this is ironic, and may be a non-confrontational way to make a point, other Christians are now up in arms that this is exactly the “snarky” kind of attitude that gives them a bad name.

I do most definitely get the point that some battles are worth fighting and some aren’t.  But I also know that some are my battles to fight, and some aren’t.  Who am I to say this isn’t HIS battle?  Like I said, I’ve never bought a cup of coffee.  I don’t care what kind of cups they use.  I’ve never had an abortion either, but I’ve had three children and a slew of grandchildren.  I care very much about children.  That’s my battleground– The Right to Life.  It’s where God has called me to fight.  And I don’t mean just to fight for a physical life.  My biggest job is to bring people into God’s kingdom—into eternal life with their Savior, King Jesus.  Maybe this man is using his battlefield to open a conversation to do the same thing.  I don’t know that, and who am I to judge?

“Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words can never hurt me.”  I heard that all my life.  Nothing could be further from the truth.  Words are the most powerful weapons on Earth.  The Bible is the Word of God, and its words have changed lives for millennia now.  In the same way, evil words, slanderous words, or intentionally hurtful words can and do harm and destroy individuals and churches every day.  We’ve got to stop it!  Love covers a multitude of sins.  Love is supposed to be the earmark of a Christian.  Loving words should characterize our speech to and about our brothers and sisters in Christ!  The enemy is NOT each other!  It’s Satan!  We’ve got to stop letting him use us to tear down other Christians.  Yes, we need to stand up for the truth, and yes, we need to pick our battles, but we also need to make sure they’re His battles we pick.

One last point.  “I want you to pray for…” can be the opening line for a gossip fest.  Beware of Christians bearing gossip. A prayer request can be given in very few words.  It doesn’t need a half hour or hour explanation.  God already knows the situation.  We don’t need to.  We need unity of heart, unity of spirit, and unity of purpose—to glorify Christ as Lord of All.

Taboo Tuesday Question of the Day:  What’s your battlefield, and how do you use it to glorify Christ?

About TeresaGPollard

Born and raised in Richmond, VA, I am a Christian Mom, Grandma, Sunday School Teacher, and now Author. My goal is to reach people with the Truth of God's Word and help them to apply it to their real world situations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

