TABOO TUESDAY TOPIC: Truth

KTKards18

For the word of God is living and active and sharper than any two-edged sword, and piercing as far as the division of soul and spirit, of both joints and marrow, and able to judge the thoughts and intentions of the heart.  Hebrews 4: 12 (NASB)

As a novelist, I’ve lived in fantasy worlds I’ve created for much of my adult life.  At times, the characters I’ve created have seemed more real to me than most of the people in my life.  At least I always knew how they would react in any given situation, and I knew that the good guys would always win in the end.

But because I’m not mentally ill, I also knew when to come out of my fantasy worlds and face reality.  The only problem is somewhere along the line, the world seems to have tilted off its axis into some parallel universe where fiction is truth and the truth is no longer acceptable in polite society.  It makes me wonder if I bumped my head and slipped into a rabbit hole, or a tornado hit Georgia that I somehow missed and I need to go looking for the Emerald City.

You think I’m exaggerating?  Think about it.  In just the last couple of years, the world has redefined the marriage definition that had been in place for thousands of years, turned criminals into heroes and police officers into the villains, and has basically criminalized any expression of Christianity while promoting Islam and other pagan belief systems.  The American flag and military symbols are banned from schools as “hate” messages while crude and lewd symbols messages are not.  Pro-life health clinics are being force to offer information on abortions. I could go on and on.

Just the other day, I saw Bruce Jenner has been nominated for “Woman” of the year.  Even if he were a woman, in what universe does he qualify as the woman of the year?  What has he done?  How does changing your name, whacking off a part of your anatomy (if he’s even done that?) and putting on women’s clothing qualify anyone to be Woman of the Year?  Don’t we have plenty of women surgeons, police officers, soldiers, or whatever, far more worthy of an award?  We even have two women running for President of the United States.  I wouldn’t vote for Hillary Clinton for president in a million years, but I could at least understand why someone would nominate her for Woman of the Year.  Jenner, I can’t comprehend at all.  Wishing something so doesn’t make it a reality.  He is not a woman!  He’s a faux-woman, a drag queen, who has never, and will never be a woman, any more than I’m the POTUS.

Truth is not fluid.  It doesn’t change from day to day with society’s morals.  In spite of what the movie says, there are not fifty shades of gray, at least as far as right and wrong are concerned.  Things really are black or white, at least in God’s eyes, and that’s all I really care about

Maybe that’s why so many people are drawn to Ben Carson and Donald Trump.  In this upside-down, politically correct fantasy world, they aren’t afraid to speak the truth as they see it and let the chips fall where they may.  That’s refreshing in a world starved for the truth.  I’m not sure I agree with either of them 100% on all the issues, but I do applaud their honesty and forthright answers.  The truth is the truth.  People need to hear it even when it’s not politically correct, even when it’s not popular, and even when it hurts.  Why?  Because Jesus said He is the Truth, He is the Way, and He is the Life.  Anything else only leads to more destruction, more heartache and despair, and more lies.  Lies are a slippery slope.  Sometimes we think they’re harmless.  What could they hurt?  But they do.  Inevitably.  They hurt us.  They hurt other people. The truth will set us free.

How do we know the truth?  God’s Word.  And that Word is not just the printed word, the Bible.  It’s a Person, Jesus Christ.  He doesn’t just know the truth, every single iota of it, He IS the Truth.  That’s why the truth never changes.  It’s God, and He’s the same yesterday, today, and forever.

About TeresaGPollard

Born and raised in Richmond, VA, I am a Christian Mom, Grandma, Sunday School Teacher, and now Author. My goal is to reach people with the Truth of God's Word and help them to apply it to their real world situations.
This entry was posted in Truth. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

