TABOO TUESDAY TOPIC: Exercise

Krystal and I at Horse Trough Falls Tuesday afternoon

Krystal and I at Horse Trough Falls Tuesday afternoon

Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us…Hebrews 12:1 (NASB)

I estimate that I’ve walked about 50k in the last eight days (Sunday to Sunday).  That’s probably more exercise than I’ve had total in the last six months total.  My friend Krystal and I went waterfall chasing again, and we found several that were buried in the backwoods of Georgia.  On the two Sundays that bookended those excursions, I walked with Liz Marbut on the 10k trail around the lake at Tribble Mill.  I’m tired!

But I wouldn’t trade anything for these experiences.  The beauty of God’s creation surrounded me and reinvigorated my soul like nothing else can do.  Krystal and I like to sing old hymns as we walk.  It’s like exercise for the body, mind, and soul all at once.  And we met some of the most wonderful people out in these sparsely inhabited wilderness areas where you wouldn’t have expected to find anyone, much less a dozen people making the same arduous trek we were.  One couple seemed almost like angels, sent to direct our path when we’d lost hope of finding that poorly-marked back road that would lead us to that day’s destination, and they clued us in where to find our best views for the next day.  Others we ran into more than once as they too chased the majesty of these magnificent sights.

Still, it would be nice if we could have flitted from place to place on a hoverboard like in Back to the Future.  I think my poor feet would have appreciated that.  Maybe when we get to heaven that’s the way it will work.  You think?  When Jesus entered the upper room after the resurrection, he simply appeared and disappeared.  Maybe we’ll never have to walk anywhere again. We’ll just think of a place and magically be there.

Somehow I doubt it will always be that way.  I kind of think we’ll still get plenty of exercise.  But I don’t think our feet or our backs will hurt because of it.  I think it will be pure joy.  On March 19-20, my grandson, Raymond Insley V, is running with the Roc Solid team for a total of almost 45 miles at the Shamrock 8k, as well as a half marathon and full marathon to raise money for childhood cancer.  He wants to raise $1000 by race day.  Raymond loves to run.  For him, it’s pure joy now.  Maybe we’ll all be like Raymond in heaven, loving the things that are good for us, and hating the bad.

Why do we seem to be the opposite now?  We hate the things that are good for us and love the things that are bad.  We can sit and watch TV, or play video games, or sit on Facebook for hours, but what good does that do us?   We eat too much and hate to even think about exercise.  At least I do.  But just like this week, when I make myself do it, I never regret it.

Did you ever watch the movie Chariots of Fire?  I loved that movie.  And I think God does love it when His children do their best at anything they do.  Maybe that’s why the writer of Hebrews compared life to a race.  Are we in it to win it?  Or are we sitting by on the sidelines watching others?  Get in the game.  Exercise all your muscles, the physical, the mental, and the spiritual ones.  That’s the only way we can become everything He wants us to be.

Taboo Tuesday Question of the Day:  What’s your favorite way to exercise? How do you exercise your brain?  And your spirit?  When do you do all three at once.

About TeresaGPollard

Born and raised in Richmond, VA, I am a Christian Mom, Grandma, Sunday School Teacher, and now Author. My goal is to reach people with the Truth of God's Word and help them to apply it to their real world situations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

