TABOO TUESDAY TOPIC: Waiting

Yet those who wait for the Lord will gain new strength; They will mount up with wings like eagles, They will run and not get tired, they will walk and not become weary. Isaiah 40:31 (NASB)

      My son, Kevin Pollard, spent the weekend racing in the 2015 IHRA World Footbrake Drag Racing Championships in Memphis, TN.  His sister, Kristina Insley, her family, and I spent all Saturday afternoon and evening in front of a TV waiting for him to make his runs.  I can’t say any of us are great drag racing fans, but we’re all Kevin Pollard fans.  This was Kevin’s second trip to Memphis.  He won the championship in 2013.  Unfortunately, this time he lost out in the quarterfinals on Sunday after a wet track delay postponed the last runs.  He crossed the finish line .001 second too fast.  In bracket racing this is called breaking out.  You can’t go even a 1/1000 of a second faster than you said you would.  Can you imagine winning a race, but losing because you went 1/1000 of a second faster than you said you would go?

Kevin’s truck goes down the track in about 5.27 seconds.  Before the race, he has to post on his windshield exactly how fast he can go on that track on that race.  If he goes a thousandth of a second too fast or too slow, it canl, and in this case, did lose him the race.  Nevertheless, I just want to let everyone know how proud I am of my son.  To me, he is the image of great sportsmanship, and he loves what he does with a passion.  He’s a winner in every way!

I learned a long time ago that God’s timing is even more precise than Kevin’s.  I’ve shared the story before of how I came to publish my first book after more than thirty years of waiting.  For those who don’t remember, I was sitting in church at Hebron one day holding a copy of Not Guilty when Betty Lumpkin told me about the writer’s conference at Ridgecrest.  As the words were coming out of my mouth to tell her I couldn’t afford to go, Melissa, a girl from Liberty University got on stage and sang a contemporary song titled, Not Guilty.  I went to the conference, and the rest is history.  Last Sunday night, I gave a tiny bit of testimony about that blessing, and another lady from church, Ruth Trippy, heard me, and invited me to go with her to an ACFW luncheon in Sugar Hill this past Saturday morning.  I’d never met Ruth before, but her second novel, The Language of Music, also came out on Tuesday, the same day as Woman of Light.  Both books have a theme of the power of praise to encourage and uplift us. Ruth had also waited many years before she became a published author.  God gave me a new friend. (And by the way, Ruth was Melissa’s piano teacher.)

Waiting is hard.  There’s no way around that.  Whether it’s waiting for hours to see a five second race or waiting for thirty years for a book to be published, it can be painful.  Can you imagine being Noah, spending 120 years building a boat while waiting for a flood?  Or Abraham, waiting for that promised son?  Except he didn’t wait very well, did he?  But I can’t say that I did either.  I went to work at a TV station to try to learn how to film Not Guilty myself.  All I managed to do was give myself a mini-stroke.  When we get discouraged, we can do stupid things to try to make things work out our way.  It never works..  God’s timing is always the best. He’s never a nanosecond too early or too late.

Taboo Tuesday Question of the Day:  When have you ever waited a long time for something?  How did God work it out?

About TeresaGPollard

Born and raised in Richmond, VA, I am a Christian Mom, Grandma, Sunday School Teacher, and now Author. My goal is to reach people with the Truth of God's Word and help them to apply it to their real world situations.
This entry was posted in Waiting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

