TABOO TUESDAY TOPIC: A Double Whammy

Click image to order from Amazon

Click image to order from Amazon

Blessed is a man who perseveres under trial; for once he has been approved, he will receive the crown of life which the Lord has promised to those who love Him.  James 1:12 (NASB)

     Last week my best friend for many years when I was younger lost her lost her husband of 50+ years, and while she was at the funeral visitation, her home burned to the ground.  My heart goes out to her so much because I know just how devastated she feels right now.  I don’t understand how anyone can survive this much pain without Jesus.  Fortunately I know my friend doesn’t have to.  I only hope she will lean on Him to get her through the struggle.  But I also know it won’t be easy.

This news brought back so many flashbacks to me of when I was still struggling with the idea of being separated from Wade for the rest of my life, and only a short time being hit with the diagnosis that Kara only had a few months to live.  I remember feeling like someone hit me upside the head with a cast iron skillet, and while I was still reeling from that blow. swinging it again to the other side of my head—a double whammy!

It sure seems like Satan does his best work on us when we’re already hurting, and vulnerable to his attacks.  No one ever said he plays fair!  We had a seminar last night at church on ministering to people in crisis.  But nobody said much about when crisis piles up on top of crisis.  People struggle with crises every day.  It’s a common experience in life.  It’s not so common to see a double whammy.  Why?  Maybe because all it takes is one to defeat us most of the time, so Satan doesn’t do any more work than he has to.  I think about the book of Job.  Why would Satan work so hard to defeat Job?  Why didn’t he stop at the first test?  Or the second?  He didn’t stop until he had taken everything Job had except his life.

I think we need to realize just how much Satan hates us.  Why would he hate us?  Because we can still have everything he’s lost!  Think about it.  He was an angel of light who sat next to the throne of God Himself.  He had everything!  And he blew it!  No wonder he roams around like a roaring lion seeking whom he can devour.  He’s jealous.  And angry.

But we also need to realize that Satan can’t do anything without God’s permission.  Why would a loving God allow us to be so devastated?  That’s where those who don’t know Him get so confused.  They can’t understand a refining fire.  And we can’t either until we’ve been through it.  Job couldn’t have passed that test unless he’d been through easier tests in the past and seen the faithfulness of God.   Do you think a kindergartner could ever pass an LSAT exam?  God will never let us face any trial that we’re not ready for.  That’s the difference between a trial and a temptation.  We get our own selves into temptations, but God takes us to the places of trial.  We didn’t do anything to cause it.  But God will get us through if we lean on Him.  And if He allows us a double whammy, I guess that just means He knows we’re stronger than we thought we were, and it’s time for a harder test.

Taboo Tuesday Question of the Day: Have you ever been hit with a double whammy?  What happened?

P.S. My newest novel, Woman of Light, releases October 6.  You can pre-order the electronic edition on Amazon until then for only 99 cents.  Please get it and review it. Thanks and God bless.

About TeresaGPollard

Born and raised in Richmond, VA, I am a Christian Mom, Grandma, Sunday School Teacher, and now Author. My goal is to reach people with the Truth of God's Word and help them to apply it to their real world situations.
This entry was posted in Double Whammy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

