TABOO TUESDAY TOPIC: Help!

photo by Bill Culbertson

photo by an acquaintance of Bill Culbertson


I will lift up my eyes to the mountains; From where shall my help come?  My help comes from the Lord, Who made heaven and earth. Psalm 121: 1-2 (NASB)

Help.  We all need it sometimes.  Remember the old Beatles song? “I get by with a little help from my friends.”   Why are we always so afraid to ask for it?

When we get over our pride and ask, our friends are so gracious to come to our aid.  Yet we sometimes wait until we’re absolutely desperate before we’ll ask.  At least I know I’m that way.  My garage door sat open for almost two weeks before I asked Bill Culbertson and Robert Johnson to come look at it.  When they did, it took them about thirty seconds to fix it.  It was a dumb problem I just didn’t see.  They had already been here a few days before to fix a toilet for my roommate.  We have no problem asking for help for others, only for ourselves.

Pride.  I think that’s the key.  Proverbs tells us pride goes before destruction.  We’re supposed to be responsible; to work hard and do what we can for ourselves, aren’t we?    We’re supposed to take care of the things He’s entrusted us with, aren’t we?  I don’t believe God expects us to depend on  the government or anyone else for our maintenance.  He even says that in 2 Thessalonians 3: 10.  And yes, He gave us dominion over everything, so He does want us to take good care of things.  So when does responsibility cross over into pride?

Maybe that’s a different answer for each of us.  God judges our hearts.  He knows our innermost being.  He hates pride.  He loves us even when we’re prideful.  But He will knock the pride right out of us.  That’s why it goes before destruction.  Pride is an idol.  It’s putting me on the throne where only He can be.

I guess the ultimate question is where are placing our reliance?  Do we look to Him or to ourselves?  I had a Sunday School teacher once who said he looked to God for the big stuff, but he could take care of the little things on his own.  I think he had that completely backwards.  If we don’t learn to trust Him in the little stuff, we’ll never learn that He is a Big God Who can handle all the big stuff as well.

We have to learn to ask.  Prayer is the opposite of pride.  It’s acknowledging we can’t do it on our own.  We need a little help from our Friend, and as the hymn says, “What a Friend we have in Jesus.”  Thank You, Jesus.  You are my ever present Help.  And thank You for giving me earthly friends to help me too.

Taboo Tuesday Question of the Day: When was the last time you asked for help?

P.S. I’m asking for your help.  Please read one of my books and post a review.  They can be purchased for as little as .99 on Amazon.com.  (The pre-publication ebook price on Woman of Light is .99 now, but I don’t know how long that will last.)   Links are posted with the pictures of the books.

About TeresaGPollard

Born and raised in Richmond, VA, I am a Christian Mom, Grandma, Sunday School Teacher, and now Author. My goal is to reach people with the Truth of God's Word and help them to apply it to their real world situations.
This entry was posted in Help!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

