TABOO TUESDAY TOPIC: THE iNVISIBLE

profile_mask2

Invisible pic

If someone says, “I love God,” and hates his brother, he is a liar; for the one who does not love his brother whom he has seen, cannot love God whom he has not seen.  1 John 4:20 (NASB)

Sometimes I feel invisible.  And not like I have a super power where I can do amazing things just because no one can see me do them.  More like I could announce on Facebook that I was going to commit suicide, and no one would care, because no one would ever know.  No, this is not such a cry for help.  It’s just frustration.

My publisher tells me that as authors we’re supposed to be the epitome of perky positivity.  Sorry, folks.  That’s just not me.  I once took a personality test, and it said I had the personality of Jeremiah or Nathan the prophet.  Not exactly shining examples of perky positivity, were they? My first reaction when I heard the test results was, “They killed the prophets, didn’t they?”

And yet, if anybody should be such an example of positivity, it should be me.  God has shown me over and over in my life that I’m not invisible to Him.  His eye is on this sparrow, and I do know He’s watching over me.  He claimed me as His own at a young age, and He’s taken care of me ever since.  Just this week, He proved Himself faithful once again.  I am truly amazed by His Grace.

So yes, I am positive about Jesus.  It’s some people who get me down.  No.  I don’t hate anybody!  I just feel like I’m one of many voices crying out in a modern-day wilderness, and no one is listening!  But I’m not alone in my invisibility.  Millions of others feel exactly the same.  The homeless…the depressed…those living in pain…the list goes on and on.

As much as I feel invisible, my heart breaks for those babies who never get a chance to write a Facebook post or even cry their first wail of protest at the unfairness of this world.  They are the truly invisible.  We don’t acknowledge their right to exist.  That has to depend on their mothers’ “choice.”  In the eyes of the law, even the father is “invisible”—unless, that is, the mother chooses life.   Then the state will come after him with a vengeance!  He has no choice at all–before or after! At least not after conception.  And isn’t that when all choice should end?

When I see that a lion in Africa can get millions so riled up they’re ready to lynch the hunter, and yet the silent cries of millions of invisible aborted babies being ripped apart and their organs sold to the highest bidder elicit barely a shrug, I just can’t fathom how God can continue to let our race exist,  What is wrong with us?  Where’s our humanity?  Why is one person able to command attention over trivial matters (and no, I’m not necessarily saying the lion is trivial. I don’t even want to get into that debate.   There are many other examples of nonsense going viral just because some celebrity, or person of influence, wrote it or at least championed it.). Others can shout out truths that make a life or death difference, and their words are ignored.  It makes no sense.

The truth is we hear what we want to hear, and ignore what might upset our psyche.  I read that the president had never seen the Planned Parenthood videos and had no intention of watching them. He has company in that about 3/4 of Americans haven’t seen them either.  Most of the media have ignored them.  That’s what I mean.  Invisible.  Inconsequential.  Inconvenient. Ignored.  Truth can be much easier to avoid than face.

But you know who else is invisible?  Our heavenly Father.  Jesus came to reveal Him, and the response He got was to be despised, rejected, spat upon, beaten, and crucified.  But boy, He was visible!  They couldn’t ignore Him.  They thought they had defeated Him.  Then the miracle.  The Resurrection.  He’s alive!  We are to carry that Truth to the nations.  Even when we feel invisible.  Inconsequential. Inconvenient.  Ignored.

The day is coming when all the Truth will at last be revealed.  When every knee shall bow and every tongue shall confess.  Then everyone will have to give an account of himself to God.  And on that day, nothing and no one will be invisible.

Taboo Tuesday Question of the Day: What makes you invisible?

About TeresaGPollard

Born and raised in Richmond, VA, I am a Christian Mom, Grandma, Sunday School Teacher, and now Author. My goal is to reach people with the Truth of God's Word and help them to apply it to their real world situations.
This entry was posted in Invisible. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

