TABOO TUESDAY TOPIC: internationals/Illegals

          Guest blog by Krystal Weeks

Welcome, Krystal!

                                                    20140615_154646_resized_1 (1)

Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you…(Matthew 28: 19, 20)

Are we following the Great Commission?   Many Christians believe in Missions as long as the missionaries go to other countries to make disciples, but not in winning them in their own backyard.  We have immigrants, refugees, and International students and workers in the USA, but most churches do not minister to them.   I have heard some say that they should go back where they came from. Some are here legally, but the greatest concern is how we should treat illegals. Most people think are getting free services by the American government.

God has opened my eyes to the need to get involved. At the church I was attending, I began an ESL class, but growing it was frowned upon. Needless to say, I moved to another church where the people are more mission minded.

My church mission statement is “bringing all people into a growing relationship with Jesus Christ.” We have a church for the Karen from Burma. I teach ESL Sunday School for them once a month. I was challenged to use my talent for teaching in our church tutoring program. I teach ESL to the parents of the students who come for tutoring.  I am not sure if all of them are legal. It should not matter if we are to be a witness for the Lord.

Our Piedmont Baptist Association has a program for Internationals. I have been a friend family in this ministry for three years. Eva is from China. She stayed with me a few weeks while she was here. Many of the people she met witnessed to her.  Others I have befriended have asked why I want to help them.  I replied that Jesus told us to love our neighbor as ourselves.

Last year, Ju, a professor from South Korea expressed interest in studying the Bible in English. She told me when she got home she would be more aware of Internationals, because I had been so accepting of her. I had the privilege of seeing her son baptized.

I am overjoyed God has permitted me to interact with and witness to so many Internationals. We should show Christ’s love and present the gospel to all whether they are here legally or not.  How can we lead our churches to embrace humanity and become truly involved in implementing the Great Commission?

image_03_resized_1Krystal weeks taught Language Arts, Spanish, and Reading for 30 years.  She has one daughter and one grandson.  She loves the Lord and volunteers at church and with Internationals.  Teresa and Krystal have read devotions together and chased waterfalls to be awed by God’s creation.  She has articles in Missions Mosaic Magazine, the Shepherd’s Center and the Piedmont Baptist Association newsletters.  She has also written devotions for the shut-ins at her church.

About TeresaGPollard

Born and raised in Richmond, VA, I am a Christian Mom, Grandma, Sunday School Teacher, and now Author. My goal is to reach people with the Truth of God's Word and help them to apply it to their real world situations.
This entry was posted in Guest blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

