TABOO TUESDAY TOPIC: The Battle of the Sexes

My Dad and Stepmom

My Dad and Stepmom

God created man in His own image, in the image of God He created Him; male and female He created them. Genesis 1:27 (NASB)

Who is stronger, men or women?  I’ve recently started working for Junk King, and I can assure you there’s no question men’s physical strength far outweighs ours.  I’m not talking about that.  I’m talking about other kinds of strength—endurance, emotional balance, etc..

I find so many things in my life ironic.  The first song Wade and I ever sang together in public was “There’s a Hole in the Bucket.” It’s a comedic ditty about a battle of wits between the sexes.  For most of the song, you tend to think the guy is completely witless, but in the end, he wins.

In my Bible study class last week, we were discussing the fall as well as the situation between Abraham, Sarah and Hagar, and of course, the guys were saying it was all the woman’s fault.  I made my usual quip that it took the devil himself to tempt a woman, but it only takes a woman to tempt a man. Everyone laughed.

The teacher was taken aback for a second, but then responded that he wouldn’t brag about being on a par with the devil.  Good response.

I don’t think there’s any question women can endure more pain than men.  If men had to have children, I don’t think the world would still exist.  Pain or illness seems to turn men back into babies who need their mama to take care of them.  At least it was always that way with Wade.  And I’m told it’s that way with a lot of men.

Years ago you seemed to hear a lot about the battle of the sexes.  Books were written about it.  Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus was all you heard about for months on end.  Nowadays you don’t hear so much about it.  Maybe that’s because the lines have become more blurred with most women now successfully competing in the business world and the “glass ceiling” dissipating somewhat.  That, and the LGBT community expanding its agenda and influence, makes for a homogenization of all traditional roles and values so that Mars and Venus aren’t so much colliding as merging.

But do men really understand women any better today than they did thirty years ago?  Do women understand men more?  As a writer, I know I struggle whenever I’m writing male characters.  I don’t want to write stereotypes, but I also don’t want my men characters to be wimpy or needy (unless that’s the character.)

What do you think?  Who’s stronger?  Is the battle of the sexes over?  If so, who won? Or are we all winners? Or losers?   Please comment!

About TeresaGPollard

Born and raised in Richmond, VA, I am a Christian Mom, Grandma, Sunday School Teacher, and now Author. My goal is to reach people with the Truth of God's Word and help them to apply it to their real world situations.
This entry was posted in Battle of the Sexes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

