TABOO TUESDAY TOPIC: Motherhood

phone3415 020

Behold, children are a gift of the Lord, the fruit of the womb is a reward. Psalm 127:3

My roommate says last week’s post sounded bitter.  If that’s true, I sincerely apologize. That wasn’t my intent at all.  I love being a woman. I loved being a wife. I still love being a mother and a grandmother. I wouldn’t trade any of those experiences for anything in this world.

I guess what I was trying to say is that womanhood, and especially motherhood, is completely undervalued in today’s society.  In fact, motherhood is so underappreciated that almost 60 million babies have been aborted since 1974 as women have abandoned this God-given role in favor of spending their lives competing in a man’s world where they’re also underappreciated and undervalued.

Maybe that does sound bitter.  I don’t mean it to.  But truth is truth.  We are who we are.  A man is a man, and a woman is a woman.  A man wishing and thinking “he’s a woman in a man’s body” doesn’t make it so any more than someone believing they’re a race horse can help them win the Kentucky Derby.

But while we may be unappreciated by society, I think God greatly values women, and especially mothers.  That’s why so many women always followed Jesus around.  They felt the Father’s love for them.

In 1974, I became a mother for the first time.  It was a scary time in my life. Wade had spent most of the last six months in the hospital for a collapsed lung, and had had major surgery to remove seventeen cysts from the lung. I’d also lost my job the same day I’d found out I was pregnant,   But I found some part-time work, Wade graduated from Virginia Tech on time, and then we moved to Roanoke where I knew absolutely no one.  God is good.  He provided for all our needs.  Miraculously, Wade had worked ½ hour more in that last year than was necessary for him to be considered full time at Kroger, so Kroger’s Traveler’s Health Insurance covered his entire hospital bill as well as for Kristina’s delivery.  We left Tech with zero debt.

In ’77, Kevin was born after five and a half weeks of labor. Yes, you read that right.  I went to the hospital on July 25 with labor pains two minutes apart. The nurses prepped me for delivery.  But the doctor refused to break the water.  Kevin wasn’t due until August 19.  Dr. Stockstill said it was too early and the baby was too small.  He said it was Braxton Hicks.  But Braxton Hicks are supposed to go away, aren’t they?  Mine never did.  September 2, he finally agreed to break the water.  But he warned it would be a long, painful delivery.  He went back to his office to see patients.  Unfortunately, they didn’t have cell phones back then, so when he got to his office, he had a message to come back to the hospital immediately.  He arrived just in time to catch Kevin, who weighed 9 pounds, 4 ounces.   Small baby.  Right?!!

And in ’79, we added Kara.  Actually the easiest delivery of all.  I’ve told this story before, but God had actually told me I was going to have her while I was still pregnant with Kevin. And I knew that He had a special plan for her life.  I just didn’t know that plan would break my heart.

But would I trade that plan?  Would I give up the twenty-seven years I had with her and go back and have the tubal ligation we were planning after Kevin was born?  Not on your life!  Children are a blessing from God.  Motherhood is His greatest invention.  We are so blessed to be His vessels to bring forth life and nurture a child through to adulthood.

I feel so sorry for those who would throw away that privilege and that gift.  I realize that the circumstances aren’t always what people would wish them to be.  With Kristina, I didn’t even know if I would be a widow by the time she was born.  But I never once considered abortion.  And God provided.  If we trust in Him, He will always provide.  He is faithful.

Taboo Tuesday Question of the Day: What’s your greatest motherhood memory?  It doesn’t have to be labor/delivery. What did your child do/say to make you laugh/cry so hard you’ll never forget?

About TeresaGPollard

Born and raised in Richmond, VA, I am a Christian Mom, Grandma, Sunday School Teacher, and now Author. My goal is to reach people with the Truth of God's Word and help them to apply it to their real world situations.
This entry was posted in Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

