TABOO TUESDAY TOPIC: My Identity

phone3415 022

Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and  the Son, and the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age. Matthew 28:19-20

     “What do you do?”  Maybe you don’t cringe every time someone asks you that.  I do.  At my age, I could easily claim to be retired.  But retired from what?  I’ve worked for pay sporadically throughout my life, but for the most part, I identified myself as a wife, a mother, and a grandmother.

     Now, I’m no longer a wife.  My children are all grown or deceased.  And, even my youngest grandchild is in preschool now, so he doesn’t need me much anymore.  I’ve also spent my life teaching Sunday School and VBs, and at times, serving as a WMU director, a GA leader, a children’s ministry leader or assistant, a children’s choir director, or whatever else the church needed me to do at the time.  But since none of that was for pay, most people don’t values it much.

Sometimes I even hesitate to identify myself as now being an author.  When I do, the next question is inevitably, “Are you self-published?”  As if that would somehow negate any value my work might have.  Their eyebrows do raise when I say, “No.  My publisher is HopeSprings Books.  They’re a small pro-life publisher out of Dumfries, VA.”  I suppose all traditionally published authors are supposed to either be male or young beautiful women.  Who would want a wrinkly old grandmother?  I’m so grateful HopeSprings does!

I don’t feel like I’ve wasted my life.  Not at all.  But I know that some people, including my own children, tend to think that I have.  They seem to think that if you don’t have a “job,” you don’t have an identity.

Yes, I do know I’m a child of God.  And I do cherish that identity.  But I guess I want more than that even.  I want to be identified as a useful adult child of God.  I want to be used as His disciple, a true Bride of the King, ready and busily preparing for the Bridegroom’s return.  That’s my identity, and it’s how I want to be known.  So, can someone please tell me how to answer that question without cringing or sounding arrogant?

About TeresaGPollard

Born and raised in Richmond, VA, I am a Christian Mom, Grandma, Sunday School Teacher, and now Author. My goal is to reach people with the Truth of God's Word and help them to apply it to their real world situations.
This entry was posted in My identity. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

