TABOO TUESDAY TOPIC: Attitude of Gratitude

chip4pictures 135

Enter His gates with thanksgiving and His courts with praise.  Give thanks to Him.Bless His Name.  Psalm 100:4 (NASB)

     I recently went with my grandson’s pre-kindergarten class on a field trip, and I was upset that his teachers didn’t use the opportunity to teach the children manners.  It would have been so easy.  “Can you say hello to the nice lady?  Her name is ________.  Say, Hello, Ms. _________.  She’s going to help us  to build a bear.  Say, please help us build a bear.  Now can you say thank youThank you Ms. _________ for helping us build a bear.  Now say goodbye to Ms. ______-“  To me, this would have been a perfect learning opportunity.  But it didn’t happen.

I’m afraid our society has completely lost its manners in general, and particularly its attitude of gratitude,  And I’m ashamed to say I’m sometimes guilty of it myself.  I find myself grumbling like the ancient Israelites at the stupidest things like my computer acting up or a vacuum cleaner that won’t pick up like I think it should, or a slow as a snail cashier in my checkout line, or whatever.  When I get in a grumpy mood like that I completely forget all the manners my own parents did work so hard to teach me.  I forget to say, Excuse me, or thank you until something or someone reminds me.  Then my face turns bright red and I profusely apologize, but what kind of example is that to those who could look to me as their image of  Christ’s love?

But even worse, what does my grumbling say to Jesus?  He has brought me through these last seven years when there is no way on this earth I would have ever made it without Him.  God was so angry with the Israelites over their grumbling.  I have no doubt whatsoever He sees mine as even worse.  After all, His Son hadn’t died yet to show the ancient Israelites the Light of His Truth

Why do I get so upset over petty annoyances that don’t mean diddle in the long run?  Where is my attitude of gratitude?  I did learn my manners as a child.  I don’t have an excuse like some children today do.  All I can do is say, Lord, forgive me, and thank You for Your forgiving Love.  Help me to learn to stop grumbling and live each day in an attitude of gratitude.  I do bless Your Holy Name.

Taboo Tuesday Question of the Day:  What are you thankful for today?

About TeresaGPollard

Born and raised in Richmond, VA, I am a Christian Mom, Grandma, Sunday School Teacher, and now Author. My goal is to reach people with the Truth of God's Word and help them to apply it to their real world situations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

