TABOO TUESDAY TOPIC: FEAR

My Dad and Stepmom

My Dad and Stepmom

And He said to them, “Why are you afraid?  Do you still have no faith?” Mark 4:40 (NASB)

At this time of the year, the world seems to think that fear is entertaining.  Maybe it is if it’s someone else’s fear.  Our own fears are crippling, debilitating, paralyzing even.  People are full of fears and phobias: spiders, snakes, darkness, clowns, tornadoes, etc.

As a child, I was pretty much afraid of everything.  I remember often hiding behind my bed in fear.   I remember seeing a movie called Hush, Hush, Sweet Charlotte and being frightened half out of my wits for days.

I think one of my biggest fears though was of my parents splitting up.  They went to some kind of a party and brought home a “divorce decree.”  Since they fought all the time, I thought it was real.  After that I lived with that fear.  When they finally did split up when I was sixteen though, I was actually glad.  They’d made each other miserable for so many years, I thought things couldn’t help but be better.  And they were.  Yes, I know.  I’m the lady who says she doesn’t believe in divorce.  But would I have condemned my dad to living with my mom for the rest of his life?  No.  But I’m getting way off the subject.  I think my point here is that most fears are useless.  I couldn’t change my parents.  I couldn’t see the future.  All fear did was devastate me.

When Jesus spoke the words of Mark 4:40, He had just calmed the wind and the sea.  He’d been asleep in the boat, and the disciples were in great fear from the storm that had come up on the Sea of Galilee.  That wasn’t an unreasonable fear at all.  A storm could easily capsize a small fishing boat easily, and they would have all drowned.  When they woke Him, they weren’t expecting Him to command the winds and sea to cease.  All they wanted was some help manning the sails and lines.  But they didn’t yet understand Who He was.  Jesus says here fear is the opposite of trust.  We do know Who He is.  We have a Savior Who can calm any storm.  Who can heal the sick.  Who can even conquer death.  Why should we be afraid?  Do we still have no faith?

Taboo Tuesday Question of the Day:  What fears have you battled?  How did you overcome them?

About TeresaGPollard

Born and raised in Richmond, VA, I am a Christian Mom, Grandma, Sunday School Teacher, and now Author. My goal is to reach people with the Truth of God's Word and help them to apply it to their real world situations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to TABOO TUESDAY TOPIC: FEAR

  1. WG Reese says:

    As a kid, fear was my constant enemy-whether the steps of my mentally ill dad coming my way-the bully who lived a few houses down the street-ready to pull my arm out of its socket…or the shadows up in the living room ceiling when my sisters and I were home alone while my divorced mother was working swing shift to support her three little girls. I wish I knew Jesus then; though I did hear His name sometimes, I didn’t know of His love or power. I had been always taught that fear is a natural mechanism-a God given provision to survive…what malarkey…since I received Messiah Jesus into my heart He has given victory upon victory within this world that suffocates with every kind of evil. Am I completely fearless?…no, But I’m better than I used to be…

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s it exactly, Wendy!! I don’t know how people make it nowadays without Christ. The world is a scary place. But as my former pastor used to say, “I’ve read the end of the book. We win!

      Like

  2. Krystal Weeks says:

    We have definitely faced a lot of fears in our adult lives too. I am so thankful that I can look back and see how God has brought me through all those frightening times.He has calmed many storms in our lives. Right? Sister.
    Krystal

    Like

Leave a Reply

