TABOO TUESDAY TOPIC: RACISM

But you are a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people for God’s own possession, so that you may proclaim the excellencies of Him who has called you out of darkness into His marvelous light. 1 Peter 2:9

Is God a racist?  You might have thought so if you grew up at my house.   I will admit to you, I grew up in a racist household.  I think many of us in the south did.  It was a part of the culture we lived in.  When there was such an uproar about Paula Deen using that ugly “N word,” I felt so sorry for her, because she was being so honest and admitting the truth about how things were back then.  That doesn’t make it right.  I’m not saying that at ll.  I’m just saying that’s how it was.  So I’ve had to examine myself.     As a child, I pretty much accepted my father’s attitudes, but as an adult, I’ve rejected them completely.  Or have I?  I’ve tried, but sometime I think just a hint of that old attitude creeps back in when someone does something wrong, and a thought that pops into my head isn’t that they did something wrong, it’s about their race.  I recognize that in myself, and I repent immediately, but how do I get to the point of not having that thought in the first place?

I never taught my own children to hate anyone.  My parents and in-laws were horrified that my children’s favorite TV show was The Cosby Show.  They couldn’t understand why we would let them even watch it.  As far as I was concerned, it was one of the few shows left on TV that still expounded good moral values and respect for your parents.  All the rest seemed to be “preaching” rebellion and immorality.  I do think I succeeded in that my children chose as their best friends, a girl from India, a black boy, and a girl whose parents were from Lebanon.  I don’t think any of them ever had a racist bone in their bodies.  When Kevin was in kindergarten, he was invited to go to a birthday party.  When he told his dad where his friend lived, Wade knew that there were two houses down that road, one white family, and one black.  So he asked Keven whether his friend was black or white.  Kevin thought and thought.  Finally he said, “I guess he’s about the color of peanut butter.”  He didn’t know!  It didn’t make any difference to him.  Wouldn’t it be wonderful if we could all get to that point in our lives?

Back to the first question.  An unequivocal “No!”  If He had been, He would never have given us the “Great Commission.”  Matthew 28:19-20 says, “Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.”  I used to teach my Sunday School children that this was the “Great Come and Go mission.  Come to Jesus.  Lay your burdens down.  Go tell everybody.  We need to break down all barriers, even the ones in our head, if we’re going to accomplish that mission.

Taboo Tuesday Question of the Day:  Did you grow up with racism?  How has your attitude changed?

About TeresaGPollard

Born and raised in Richmond, VA, I am a Christian Mom, Grandma, Sunday School Teacher, and now Author. My goal is to reach people with the Truth of God's Word and help them to apply it to their real world situations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

