TABOO TUESDAY TOPIC: OUR TONGUES

IMGP0140

FIFTY SHADES OF RED

But no one can tame the tongue.  It is a restless evil and full of deadly poison.  James 3:8.

Let the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be acceptable in Your sight, O Lord, my rock and my Redeemer.  Psalm 19:14 (NASB)

Have you seen the recent Disney short where the fairies are trying to find the perfect shade of red to paint the fall flowers, and Tinkerbell can’t quite suit them?  She gets so flustered, her face turns the shade they’re looking for.  I recently had yet another fashion faux pas at a connect group event.  It was probably about my millionth in my life.  (Yes, that’s hyperbole, but not nearly as much as you might think.)  And no, I didn’t pull a Janet Jackson and show off a meant to be unseen body part.  It just seems I’m always sitting in something, spilling something in the worst possible place, or emitting bodily fluids at the worst possible times.  I’ve been that way as long as I can remember.  I’ve always said Satan just loved to see how many shades of red he could turn my face.

Sometimes I don’t have to do anything for my clothes to offend.  One day a few years back, a lady cussed me out for wearing a fake fur coat.  Gee, I don’t know how many baby polyesters died to make that coat.

But it isn’t just my clothes that get me into trouble.  My words do too.  When I worked in sales, women would sometimes bring their babies in dressed in the cutest little frilly outfits, but if I made the mistake of calling that boy a girl, boy was I in for it!  I wish I could say that was the worst of it though.  Ninety nine percent of the time, my language is clean and free from stain.  It’s that other one percent when I become irate and that one word slips out before I can restrain it.  I don’t put God’s name in front of it.  I just say it.  And as usual, it happens at the worst possible times.  To be honest though, sometimes when I’m alone, and my computer or some other piece of technology or mechanical equipment frustrates me, I don’t even attempt to restrain it.  Maybe if I did then, it wouldn’t happen at other times.

I grew up hearing foul language, but I never wanted my children to grow up hearing it.  But they did.  Not often.  Not on a regular basis.  But enough that I quite agree with James. The tongue is impossible to tame.

But that doesn’t mean we should ever stop trying.   Praise The Lord, 1 John 1:9 also tells us, “If we confess our sins, He is faithful and righteous to forgive us our sins, and cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”  We do have the opportunity to start over.  It is a matter of the heart.  The more we center our hearts on Him, the closer we can come to taming that wicked little evil: our tongue.

Taboo Tuesday Question of the Day:  What’s your biggest problem with your tongue, and has anything helped you to tame it?

About TeresaGPollard

Born and raised in Richmond, VA, I am a Christian Mom, Grandma, Sunday School Teacher, and now Author. My goal is to reach people with the Truth of God's Word and help them to apply it to their real world situations.
This entry was posted in THE TONGUE. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

