TABOO TUESDAY TOPIC: HOROSCOPES

Praise Him, sun and moon; Praise Him all stars of light!  Psalm 148: 3 315 Landing 20

     Many years ago, my father sent me a beautiful gold necklace with a crystal center.  The crystal had an etched crab on it since my birthday was in July.  I loved my father, and I didn’t want to hurt him, but I had to write and tell him I couldn’t wear the necklace, because as much as I didn’t want to offend my father, I didn’t want to offend my Heavenly Father even more.  

      Many people, including many Christians, believe that checking their daily horoscope in the morning is an innocuous and fun pastime.  It isn’t.  It’s a  Satanic worship ritual.  

     But why?  Doesn’t even Jesus give us the old sailor’s truism, “Red sky at morning, sailors take warning, red sky at night, sailors delight.” (Matt. 16:2-3)  There has been a lot of discussion this year about the four blood moons.  and other weather phenomena portending great danger for our country. (see Luke 21:25)   What’s the difference between pastors preaching on these signs and a horoscope?  The difference is that between astronomy and  astrology.    The heavens do declare the glory of God, and He writes His messages all across the sky.  The Magi even followed a star to Bethlehem and found the Messiah.    

     A few years back, I had a serious discussion about this with my son Kevin.  He said he’d told a woman his birthday, and she’d told him all about his life.  He thought it was amazing.  

     “It wasn’t amazing,” I told him.  “It was Satanic power at its most vicious.”  

     I tried to explain to him that because we serve an orderly God, and we live in an orderly universe that operates according to an orderly system, it’s only natural that some of that order could be seen by the enemy, and used to entice God’s children away from true worship of the Creator into a false worship of creation.  What I tried to point out to him though was that the One who made a pattern could just as easily break it any time He desired.   And it’s also when we break the pattern, when we go against what comes naturally and enter the realm of God’s wisdom, that we achieve greatness too.  Astrology would condemn us to the natural.  What God desires is a supernatural reliance on Him alone.  

     We were designed to worship.  It’s written into our DNA.  Our sinful nature rebels against God. but it can’t fight that need to worship something.  It finds something to fill that need.  If  a stupid little horoscope can do that, Satan gets people firmly in his grip.  

Taboo Tuesday Question of the Day:  How do you respond to someone who wants to read you your horoscope?   

About TeresaGPollard

Born and raised in Richmond, VA, I am a Christian Mom, Grandma, Sunday School Teacher, and now Author. My goal is to reach people with the Truth of God's Word and help them to apply it to their real world situations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to TABOO TUESDAY TOPIC: HOROSCOPES

  1. Excellent explanation against horoscopes, Teresa!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. yosemitesyd says:

    I think broad brushing horoscopes as satanic worship ritual is a bit strong. Like the fortune in a cookie, it only has the power you give it. Newspaper horoscopes are written for amusement, mostly by people who don’t practice the dark arts. Most fortune tellers I have encountered are performing empty party tricks. I personally don’t find horoscopes amusing (unless they are well written and satirical, rarely the case) and am sad to think that someone would put their faith in a seer (who is either practicing commerce or a religion) rather than God or even a well qualified therapist. They won’t get the answers the need. And yes, if they continue down that path they run the risk of meeting someone very scary.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sydney, I don’t think it matters whether they think they’re practicing commerce of religion. What matters is that Satan can use it to entice people. It opens a door that is much better left closed. God bless.

      Like

  3. WG Reese says:

    So true that many cannot see the danger. The mind absorbs, the soul delights and the spirit becomes poisoned…When I’m asked, I say, “My sign is the cross.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

