TABOO TUESDAY TOPIC: ABORTION

YOU SAY IT'S LEGAL TO DO WHAT?!

YOU SAY IT’S LEGAL TO DO WHAT?!

“For behold, when the sound of your greeting reached my ears, the baby leaped in my womb for joy.” Luke 1:44 (NASB)

Have you ever thought of the fact that eagle and sea turtle eggs are protected by law, but our own babies are not?

Abortion was the topic of the first attempt I ever made at public speaking before any group larger than my usual six to ten first and second graders. It was somewhere around 1980, I had been elected as a messenger to the BGAV (Baptist General Association of Virginia). There were about 3500 messengers there. I was  shaking like a 7.0 earthquake, and my voice was probably at least an octave higher than normal. I never even gave them my name.

I believe it was the largest group of messengers the BGAV had ever had to that point. The reason there were so many was because they were voting on two controversial issues.  I don’t even remember exactly what one of them was, but the other was abortion.  The Baptist Hospital was becoming one of the largest abortion providers in the state.

Although the hospital had become financially independent, the BGAV still gave a large amount of money to the chaplaincy program there. The motion was to suspend support as long as they were performing abortions.  At first, the argument didn’t seem to be that abortion wasn’t wrong.  It was more that the money wasn’t actually going to fund abortions anyway so what difference did it make?

It was like The Lord lit a fire under me and pushed me up onto that stage.  But all I was going to say at that point was that it didn’t really make any difference which pocket you put the money in if the same filthy hands were controlling the pants..

But as I was sitting on the stage, a PASTOR spoke, and said he was so sick of people trying to grab headlines by calling abortion murder.  He dared anyone there to find any place in the Bible where it gave a definition of when life began.

Then it was my turn to speak.  The Lord had immediately brought this verse to mind, but I hadn’t even carried my Bible up to the stage. So I just told them that I’d like to draw their attention to a familiar passage that I thought was found in the book of Luke. It told for the first meeting of Jesus and John the Baptist, and It occurred while they were both still in their mothers’ wombs.  John the Baptist leaped.  He was physically alive.  He leaped with joy.  He was emotionally alive.  And he leaped with joy at the nearness of his Lord.  He was spiritually alive.  How much more alive can you get than that?

And just in case anyone thinks, ‘yeah, but John was at the end of his second trimester,’ remember that Jesus was still in His first.  Life does begin at conception.  That pastor was wrong.  The Bible does confirm it.

The vote was close that day. We lost. But it’s a cause that has stayed near to my heart.  No, I’ve never had an abortion.  But if abortion had been legal in 1950, I tend to doubt I’d even be here.  And there are probably a lot of others out there who wouldn’t either. Think of all the children and grandchildren all those aborted could have had by now.

If we can’t appeal to their morality, maybe we should appeal to our lawmakers’ greed.  According to the Gospel Project leader guide, the FDA values a life at 7.9 million and the EPA values it at 9.1 million dollars.  (I guess that’s when it suits their purposes.) I have no clue how they came up with those figures, but that’s $644,400,000,000,000 in lost income since Roe vs. Wade.  And that’s only the aborted themselves, not their descendants. Think of all the taxes they could have paid. We wouldn’t have nearly the debt, and Social Security wouldn’t be endangered.  But that’s all beside the point. Life is precious. It’s precious to God, and it should be precious to us. We are committing genocide on our own future.  It has got to stop!

Taboo Tuesday Question of the Day: How can we best go about making the government offer our unborn children the protection they give to turtle and eagle eggs?

Congratulations to Mary Hamilton on being our July winner of her choice of Not Guilty or Tokens of Promise!  By the way, Mary’s new YA novel, Speak No Evil, launches today.  Haven’t read it yet, but I will!  Her first novel was amazing! I loved it!  God bless you, Mary!

About TeresaGPollard

Born and raised in Richmond, VA, I am a Christian Mom, Grandma, Sunday School Teacher, and now Author. My goal is to reach people with the Truth of God's Word and help them to apply it to their real world situations.
This entry was posted in Abortion. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to TABOO TUESDAY TOPIC: ABORTION

  1. Krystal Weeks says:

    you go sister!Greensboro Pregnancy Center is making the ones who come have an ultra sound with the father there. I know that this is only a drop in the bucket. They are raising money and awareness. They are near the college campus. We can pray, give, and speak out for the sanctity of human life.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Amen! Stats show that at least 80% of those who see an ultrasound choose LIFE! When they see one, no one can deny this is a baby, not a “clump of cells” as Planned Parenthood would have them believe.

      Like

  2. Lynn Burt says:

    Would that all politicians who approve of abortion could read your comments! I have never seen the issue covered with such clarity and insight, but the bolted doors on the minds of “modern” thinkers would not admit anything from the Bible as acceptable reasons for disallowing abortions.
    Since money is the primary consideration in our government, would they not be convinced by your economic reasoning? Send it out to your representatives–indeed to the entire Congress!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

