TABOO TUESDAY TOPIC: CHILD MOLESTATION

chip 2 pictures 133But whoever causes one of these little ones who believe in Me to stumble, it would be better for him to have a heavy millstone hung around his neck, and to be drowned in the depth of the sea.  Matthew 18:6 (NASB)

In the news this week, a young man confessed that he had used mission trips to molest young children.  While this sickened me, unfortunately I can’t say that it surprised me.  Predators go where they find children.  Church is only one such place.

Statistics say that 1 in every 3 women and 1 in every 10 men will be sexually assaulted in their lifetime.  Many of those assaults occur while these are still children and at their most vulnerable.

As a children’s worker for over forty years, it never occurred to me to wonder why we never taught lessons on human sexuality until I found out that one of the young girls I had taught in first and second grade had been molested by her own father from the time she was a toddler until she was about twelve.  When she finally had the courage to speak up and tell her mother, her mother put an end to the abuse by immediately divorcing her husband.  But I know the effects of the abuse did not end there.  I’ve always had to wonder if there was something I, as her teacher, could have done to save her from this trauma years earlier.

I have to commend my church, #Hebron Church, on its vigilance in this matter.  All children’s workers are required to go through a criminal background check, and to watch a video, which serves as a stern warning to all would-be predators that they will be caught, and they will be prosecuted to the full extent of the law.

But what about those children whose place of danger is their own home?  Isn’t that the one place in the world where they should feel the safest?  But so often, it’s not.  How can we, as church workers, help our children to know that Jesus cares; that He doesn’t want them to be hurt in any way, and it’s okay to cry out for help?   If we continue our silence on this subject, aren’t we fostering the atmosphere that allowed its presence in the first place?  Won’t our Lord hold us accountable for that silence?  I think Matthew 18:6 says He will.

Taboo Tuesday Question of the Day:  What can we do to protect our children from sexual predators?

About TeresaGPollard

Born and raised in Richmond, VA, I am a Christian Mom, Grandma, Sunday School Teacher, and now Author. My goal is to reach people with the Truth of God's Word and help them to apply it to their real world situations.
This entry was posted in Child Molestation and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to TABOO TUESDAY TOPIC: CHILD MOLESTATION

  1. I’d like to see men take this on, speaking to other men about channeling their sexuality in appropriate ways. Although, I guess with the rise of teachers (women) molesting children, we all need to speak out about it and make sure people know it’s intolerable. Maybe even more so, we need to offer confidential help for those overwhelmed by their urges.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Krystal Weeks says:

    I taught Middle School and felt helpless to help the ones a knew had been sexually abused. I had one student who cut herself. I assume she was sexually abused, but most of the time I didn’t know what my students had suffered in their lives.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Krystal. I understand. I feel like I was so naive for so long. I only know for sure about the one, but there were probably many others. Can someone give a list of symptoms for those who are still teaching to look for? When they see these symptoms, what should they do next? At what point do you get the police involved? We had a child come to us with a story of child abuse, and we did call social services. We never saw that child at the church again.

      Like

      • Laura Jackson says:

        Every school I’ve ever worked at (not many–three) did professional development on the signs of physical, sexual, and emotional abuse. And in my state (Texas), teachers can get into trouble for NOT reporting it to the principal or to CPS directly. Many times, the principal wants to do it just so that it’s out of the teacher’s hands/responsibility.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks, Laura. Please tell us more. I never taught school, only Sunday School. I know kids tend to be shy and reclusive, but I’d like to know more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

