TABOO TUESDAY TOPIC: HOLY SEXUALITY

383298CEFor this cause, a man shall leave his father and his mother, and shall cleave to his wife, and they shall become one flesh. And they were both naked, and were not ashamed. Genesis 2:24-25 (NASB)

I almost wanted to add the word “Batman” to the topic title, but that’s just my quirky sense of humor.  It’s fitting that this should be my first blog topic, because I’ve been saying for years that the Church has committed a great sin by remaining silent on the subject.  In so doing, they have blithely handed the entire realm of sex and sexuality over to Satan.  The messed up world we live in is the result.

Let’s get right to the point.  Do you think of sex and sexuality as holy?  I don’t think most people nowadays do.  They see it as sinful; something to either be indulged, suppressed, or denied.

But in Genesis 2:24, we can see that sex and sexuality were actually a holy gift from God given to man BEFORE the fall.  This was a command!  Something cannot be both a sin and a command from God at the same time.    Ancient pagans recognized their innate sexuality to the point they indulged it even in their worship practices.   Christians, almost since the beginning, have gone to the other extreme by equating sex with sin.  If it were a sin, would God have spent so much effort giving laws governing it’s practice?  Wouldn’t he just have said, “Don’t do it!”

In ancient times there was no wedding ceremony as we know it today.  The sex act was the wedding ceremony.  But it had to be a public act, a “taking” of a wife, not something shameful done in secret.  Until this century, maybe even to today, a marriage was not considered legal until it was consummated.   Sex is not supposed to equal sin.  It is supposed to equal marriage, a holy estate.  That’s why the Bible sees any sexual activity outside of marriage as adultery, either against your future, your present, or even your ex-husband.  Marriage is the foundation of society.  Because we have so abused this holy gift, our society is crumbling right before our eyes.

I was married for forty years.  For forty years, I greatly enjoyed a healthy, active sex life.  Believe me when I say I greatly miss it.  I’m not divorced by my choice.  But I am committed to being faithful to Jesus.

I want to thank Sydney Avey for contributing this topic, and I welcome any suggestions for future topics.  What do you want to talk about?  Let’s keep up the conversation.

TABOO TUESDAY QUESTION OF THE DAY:  How do you see sex?    How would a change of attitude about sex affect us?

About TeresaGPollard

Born and raised in Richmond, VA, I am a Christian Mom, Grandma, Sunday School Teacher, and now Author. My goal is to reach people with the Truth of God's Word and help them to apply it to their real world situations.
This entry was posted in Holy Sexuality. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to TABOO TUESDAY TOPIC: HOLY SEXUALITY

  1. Lynn Burt says:

    It appears to me that in modern society that sex is considered like an appetite and is to be expected in any “relationship.” Those of us who are or who have honored the Biblical definition as sex being only for marriage between a man and a woman are considered old fashioned or just prudes. Do Christians have those appetites? Of course they do, but they control them with the help of God. They look toward a higher purpose in life and avoid situations that could lead to improper sexual encounters. It used to be that a man and woman could have a friendship without “favors” being expected; it is my guess that these friendships occur less often now. What do you think?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I quite agree with you, Lynn. That’s the main reason I haven’t even tried to date much since my divorce. I learned the hard way the pressure put on us to conform to today’s society’s behavior, and I don’t want to even risk being put in that position again.

      Like

  2. Some years ago, the Lord revealed to me how the sexual relationship was meant to symbolize our spiritual relationship with Him. Over and over, the Bible equates sex outside of marriage as idolatry–worshipping the created rather than the Creator. The male drive can be likened to God’s pursuit of us, His insatiable desire for us to be His and His alone. The more I thought about it, the more parallels I saw. It certainly made me see sex in a whole new light, as the more we pervert God’s purpose, the more power we give our adversary. It’s still not easy, but seeing it from God’s perspective has helped me.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. yosemitesyd says:

    A thoughtful treatment of a difficult subject, Teresa. I always go back to the basic principle that God created us male and female gave us some parameters to work within. I was just reading today what Jesus said about divorce in Matthew 19:8 about God’s original intention and the concessions allowed us in our fallen state. As Christians we strive to hit the mark God has set before us, and we do that within the context of today’s uber-sexualized culture. I’m reminded of how Jesus did not condemn the Samaritan woman but offered her a better alternative. Sometimes I think Christian’s elevate sexual sin above all other sins to the detriment of our witness.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think that’s true , Sydney, and you’re right in that sin is sin, but in 1 Corinthians 6:18-20, Paul also seems to elevate these sins as being especially bad, and even more so for Christians.

      Like

Leave a Reply

