Taboo Tuesday Topic: WHAT SHALL WE TALK ABOUT?

For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of men who suppress the Truth in unrighteousness.

Since this is an inaugural post for this blog, I think I should start with a bit of testimony. I don’t come from a Christian family. I was brought to the foot of the cross by a young preteen neighbor who started taking me to church as a preschooler. At twelve I gave life to Jesus. (I’ll talk more about that in a later post.) For forty years, I defined myself mostly as a wife, mother, and later grandmother. When my youngest daughter entered kindergarten, I went back to school and earned both a Bachelor’s and Master’s Degree in English and Creative Writing, but no one showed much interest in my writing. My professor said my writing was “too righteous for any secular publisher to consider, and too shocking for any Christian publisher.” I can’t honestly say that was an accident. I always believed Christians needed to wake up to the reality around them instead of hiding behind their stained glass windows. So, although I kept writing, for the most part, I put my books up on my bookshelf after they were read by a few friends. I taught Sunday School to children as well as leading WMU and performing all the other tasks of the church that were asked of me, but no one ever paid me for any of them, so I guess few people considered my life of much value. I was ‘just a housewife’ even in the eyes of my own family. Then, in 2007, the unthinkable happened. My marriage of forty years collapsed, and only a few months later, my youngest daughter was given a death sentence from cervical cancer. I was devastated, to say the least. Not many people know this, but I had the pills in my mouth to call it quits. But He wouldn’t let me do it. I went over to the stereo, put on a Michael Combs tape, spit out the pills, and screamed and cried. Then I got up and determined that my life was not over. God still had a purpose and a plan for me. It’s been seven years now. I believe that more than ever. I hope you will join me in my journey.

Taboo Tuesday Question of the Day:  What did you always want to hear your Pastor, Sunday School Teacher, or Youth Leader talk about, but they didn’t?

Commenters will be entered in a drawing for a free copy of your choice of Not Guilty or Tokens of Promise.

About TeresaGPollard

Born and raised in Richmond, VA, I am a Christian Mom, Grandma, Sunday School Teacher, and now Author. My goal is to reach people with the Truth of God's Word and help them to apply it to their real world situations.
This entry was posted in The Wrath of God. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Taboo Tuesday Topic: WHAT SHALL WE TALK ABOUT?

  1. Teresa, what a testimony you have. I’ve seen so many “church” marriages break up and I had no idea they were even having difficulties. How can we get to these marriages before they reach the breaking point? We do need to talk openly about our struggles. We need to see church as more of a hospital for sick people than a country club for those who are well off.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Amen. And no marriage is ever “safe” from Satan’s arrows. I thought I had one of the best ones ever. Only a month before we broke up, Wade told our Sunday School teacher he was the “luckiest man on the planet.”

      Like

    • yosemitesyd says:

      I appreciate what you are saying, Mary. My daughter has just been through a shattering divorce. She drags herself to church for the sake of her children, not because she lacks faith but because she doesn’t have the energy to listen to one more sermon on Christian duty. Perhaps a little more attention to soul reviving worship around the beauty and goodness of God would help.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Give your daughter time, Sydney. I know that’s cliche, but I did have to drag myself anywhere for a long time. If all she’s hearing at her church are sermons on duty, she may need to find a new one, but I would encourage her to take her time before making any major decisions.

        Like

  2. yosemitesyd says:

    Okay, I will go first. Honest talk about sex. Don’t do it outside of marriage is simply not enough.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Love that topic, Sydney, but will you settle for WHYY it’s not good to have sex outside of marriage?

      Like

      • yosemitesyd says:

        I think I’d rather see the discussion leave the “why it’s not good” arena and go in a more compassionate direction toward how to give and receive the love and intimacy all humans need in a way that is appropriate to whatever situation a person finds themselves in. I’m not necessarily talking about sex, but more the context in which sex happens. It is so easy for Christians who are in satisfying, sanctioned relationships to tell other people to go sit in a corner and behave themselves. This is a very long conversation, probably more appropriate to a Bible Study than a sermon series.

        Like

  3. Sydney,
    If you don’t know or remember, I’ve been divorced for seven years now. Believe me, I know how hard this is! But God’s Word is pretty specific in this area. Nevertheless, I will greatly appreciate your input!

    Like

Leave a Reply

